How to archive a Google Classroom course and keep its data and grades

How to archive a Google Classroom course and keep its data and grades

Google Classroom serves as a virtual learning space, where teachers can distribute assignments, grades, and feedback to all class members. Then, at the end of the semester or school year, the Google Classroom course can be easily deleted or archived while retaining student data and grades who, in the meantime, can deliver projects and track their progress along the way.

If you are a teacher, you can archive any lesson – this is essentially a way of saying that the lesson is over, but preserving all materials and objects. And if you are the head teacher of a class, you can eliminate it too.

Deleting a class will delete all posts and comments, although students who have a link to their Google Drive folders can still access the files.

Here’s how to archive and then delete Google Classroom courses on desktop, iPhone, iPad, or Android devices.

How to archive and delete Google Classroom courses on Mac or PC

To archive a course:

1. Visit classroom.google.com and log into your account, then find the course you want to archive. Remember that you need to be an instructor in the classroom.

2. Tap the three vertical dots in the upper right corner of the course card you want to archive.

3. Click on “Archive” to confirm your choice.

archive google classroom course

To unarchive a course, click the three horizontal lines in the top right corner of the Google Classroom dashboard, then select ‘Archived courses’.

In the archived course card, click on the three vertical dots in the upper right corner, then click “Restore”.

To delete a class:

1. Archive the course first using the previous steps and open the “Archived Courses” page.

2. Find the class card you want to delete and click on the three dots in the top right corner.

3. Select “Delete”.

delete google classroom class

How to archive and delete Google Classroom courses on iPhone or iPad

To archive a course:

1. Open the Google Classroom app on your device and log into your account.

2. On the class sheet you want to archive, click on the three horizontal dots (…).

3. Tap “Archive”.

To restore an archived course, tap the three horizontal lines in the top left corner of the app screen, then tap Archived Courses. In the course card, tap and choose “Reset” to reset the course.

To delete a class:

1. Archive the course, then open the “Archived Courses” page.

2. Tap “Delete” on the course card you want to delete.

How to archive and delete Google Classroom courses on Android

To archive a course:

1. Once you open the Classroom app and find the course you want to archive, tap the three vertical stacked dots in the top right corner of the course card.

2. Tap “Archive”, then “Archive” again to confirm.

To restore the archived course, tap the three lines stacked horizontally in the top left corner of the app. Then tap “Archived Courses” and, once the course card is displayed, tap the three dots again before tapping “Restore”.

To delete a class:

1. Follow the instructions above to archive the course, then open the “Archived Courses” page.

2. Tap the three dots in the upper right corner of the class you want to delete.

3. Select “Delete”.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.