How to block someone on Facebook

How to block someone on Facebook

Blocking someone on Facebook is a way to protect yourself from toxic individuals, harassment, or people you don’t want to communicate with on the social media site. Here is an explanation of what it means to block someone, reasons to take this action, and how to block someone on Facebook.

These instructions explain how to block someone using Facebook on the desktop and the Facebook mobile app for iOS and Android.

Blocking vs Pausing and Unfollowing

Blocking is different from pausing or not following someone. Before you decide to block someone, see if another action might be more appropriate.

PAUSE

When you postpone a Facebook friend, you won’t see their posts for 30 days, which helps if you need a break.

STOP FOLLOWING

Unfollowing means you won’t see someone’s posts, which is useful if you want to keep a connection but don’t want to encounter what the individual shares. It’s easy to follow the person again if you change your mind.

BLOCK

Blocking is more serious than the other options. When you block a Facebook user, they can’t communicate with you or see anything you post and you won’t see any of her posts or comments. It will be as if you are invisible to each other on Facebook.

The blocked user cannot invite you to events, see your profile or send you an instant message via Messenger. If you decide to unblock the person, send them a new friend request.

Choose to block anyone you want on Facebook, whether they are a current Facebook friend or not.

Reasons to block someone on Facebook

There are several reasons why people block others on Facebook. If there is a problem with stalking, harassment, or bullying, blocking someone on Facebook gives that person less access to your life. In the event of a dispute between friends or family, someone may choose to block a user to prevent potential future interactions.

Whatever the reason for blocking someone, blocking is anonymous. Facebook doesn’t notify anyone about their blocked status.

How to block someone on Facebook on the desktop

It’s easy to block someone using Facebook on a Windows, Mac, or Linux desktop.

  1. Go up Facebook.com in a web browser.

  2. Select the icon Account (down arrow).

  3. Select Settings and Privacy .

  4. Select Settings .

  5. From the left menu panel, select Block .

    block people on facebook
  6. In the box Block users enter the name of the person or page you want to block, then select Block .

  7. In the list Block people choose the specific person or page you want to block, then select Block .

  8. A confirmation window appears, explaining the consequences of someone being blocked. To proceed, select Block [nome] .

  9. You have blocked the user on Facebook and their name is displayed in the list Block users .

    Alternatively, go to the profile page of the person you want to block and select i three points in the menu bar at the top right. Select Block then select again Block to confirm.

  10. If you change your mind, select Unlock > Confirmation to unlock this user. You will need to send another friend request to restore all contacts.

    After unblocking someone, you have to wait a few days before you can block them again.

Block someone on Facebook via mobile

It is also possible to block someone using the Facebook iOS or Android mobile app.

  1. Open and log into the Facebook mobile app.

  2. Go to the profile page of the person you want to block.

  3. Touch Other (three dots) below and to the right of the person’s name.

  4. Touch Block .

  5. In the confirmation pop-up, tap again Block .

    block facebook app profiles

    Alternatively, tap the icon of Facebook in the bottom menu, then tap Settings > Block . Touch Add to blocked list, then enter the name of the person you want to block. Touch Block, then tap again Block to confirm.

  6. You blocked the person on Facebook.

    To unblock the person, tap the icon of Facebook in the bottom menu, then tap Settings > Block . Touch Unlock next to the name of the blocked person.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.