How to delete a user account on Mac

How to delete a user account on Mac

If you’ve recently stopped sharing your Mac with others, you should consider deleting unused user accounts on the machine. We will show you how to safely delete user accounts on macOS.

Before you begin, be sure to check if you have administrator privileges on your Mac. To check this, click on the Apple logo in the upper left corner of your Mac desktop and open System Preferences.

Click on System Preferences

How to remove user accounts in macOS

In macOS System Preferences, go to “Users and Groups”.

How to delete a user account on Mac

This will show all user accounts on your Mac. Your account will appear at the top of the left pane and if you see “Admin” under your username, you have administrator privileges.

If you don’t see it, you can log into any other account with administrator privileges and go to the same “Users and Groups” page in System Preferences. Now click on the lock icon in the lower left corner of the window.

Enter the password for this administrator account. Click “Unblock” when done. This will allow you to make changes to user accounts.

Enter your user account password on Mac and click "Unlock".

To make your account an administrator, click on your username in the left pane and select “Allow user to administer this computer”. Note that a reboot is required for these changes to take effect.

After making sure this is an administrator, go back to your account on the Mac and go back to “Users & Groups” in “System Preferences”. Again, click on the lock icon in the lower left corner of this window, type in your user account password and click on the blue “Unlock” button.

To delete a user account from your Mac device, select the correct username in the left pane, then click the “-” (minus) button under “Login Options”.

Now is the time to decide if you want to keep some of the data associated with the outgoing user account. You can choose to keep its home folder as a disk image in your Mac’s “Users” folder. To do this, click “Save Home Folder to a disk image”.

If you prefer not to touch the contents of that user account, you can select “Do not change the home folder”. However, if you are sure you want to delete all data from that user account, you can select “Delete Home Folder”.

Once you have made your choice, click on the blue “Delete User” button to finish the process.

Click "Delete User" to remove a user account on a Mac.

The user has been removed from your Mac. If you also use Windows, you may want to know how to delete a user in Windows.

If you are worried about losing your data, you should try various ways to backup your Mac.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.