How to delete your YouTube channel

How to delete your YouTube channel

If you no longer wish to keep your YouTube channel, you can delete the channel and remove its presence from the site. We will show you how to do this from your Windows, Mac, Linux or Chromebook computer.

What happens when you delete your YouTube channel

When you delete your channel, YouTube removes all uploaded videos, comments, messages, playlists and history. However, this does not delete your YouTube (Google) account.

YouTube will also cancel your YouTube TV, YouTube Premium, and any channel subscriptions. You will be able to continue using these subscriptions until the end of the billing cycle.

Your channel’s video thumbnails may still appear in some places on YouTube. This is because YouTube will take some time to remove all of your content from the site. The analytics data for your channel will continue to be part of YouTube Analytics, but will not be linked to your specific channel.

How to remove your YouTube channel

YouTube does not allow users to delete channels from a mobile phone. Then, you’ll need to use a Windows, Mac, Linux, or Chromebook computer to delete your channel.

When you’re ready, start by opening a web browser on your computer and going to the YouTube Studio site. Then log into your YouTube account.

On the YouTube Studio site, in the left sidebar, click “Settings”.

Click "Settings" on the YouTube Studio site.

In the “Settings” window, from the left sidebar, choose “Channel”.

Select "Channel" in the "Settings" window on the YouTube Studio site.

In the right pane of the “Settings” window, click “Advanced Settings”.

Click "Advanced Settings" in the "Settings" window on the YouTube Studio site.

Scroll down the “Advanced Settings” tab all the way to the bottom. At the bottom, click “Remove YouTube Content”.

Select "Remove YouTube Content" in the "Settings" window on the YouTube Studio site.

YouTube will open a new tab in your web browser. In this new tab, if you are asked to enter your YouTube account details, do so and continue.

Enter your YouTube login details.

You are now on the “Remove YouTube Content” page. Here, select “I want to permanently delete my content”.

Select "I want to permanently delete my content" on the "Remove YouTube content" page.

In the expanded menu, enable both checkboxes. Then, at the bottom of the menu, click “Delete my content”.

Click "Delete my content" on the "Remove YouTube content" page.

In the “Delete your content” window that opens, type your email address in the text box and then click “Delete my content”.

I notify: make sure YouTube is okay by deleting all data associated with your channel. You cannot restore your data once it is deleted.

Enter your email address and select "Delete my content" in the window "Delete your content".

YouTube will delete your channel.

Message from YouTube that your channel is being deleted.

And you are good to go. If you want to go all the way and delete your Google account, that’s possible too.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.