How to eliminate the "suggestions for you" on Instagram

How to eliminate the “suggestions for you” on Instagram

As you scroll through your Instagram feed, you may notice a list of suggested users to follow among some of the posts that appear (based on who you already follow and how you interact on the app).

If you are not interested in following one or more of these users, you can easily delete the suggested followers so that they no longer appear. This article tells you how to remove suggested users and how to stop seeing your profile as a suggestion on other people’s Instagram.

How to delete Instagram suggested users

The following instructions apply to both the Instagram app and Instagram.com.

  1. Open the Instagram app or go to Instagram.com in a desktop or mobile web browser and log into your account if necessary.

  2. Scroll through your home feed until you see a horizontal list of suggested users labeled “Recommended for You”. It will likely appear near the top of your feed, after the first or second most recent post.

  3. Optionally, select your profile picture or name from any suggested user to go to his profile and see if it’s worth following. If you decide you don’t want to follow them, select the back arrow at the top left of the app (or the Back button in the browser) to go back.

  4. Select the X in the upper right corner of any suggested user boxes. It will disappear immediately.

    Instagram won’t ask you to confirm that you want to delete the suggested user after selecting the X, so be sure to delete it the first time. There is no way to cancel it once it’s done.

  5. To speed up the process of deleting multiple suggested users to follow, select View all above the list. This will take you to a new tab or page with a vertical list labeled All suggestions .

  6. If you are viewing All suggestions from the app, select the X to the right of any suggested user to delete them. Having them listed in a smaller vertical list makes deleting multiple users faster and easier.

    delete instagram suggestions

    Again, Instagram won’t ask you to confirm that you want to delete the suggested user after selecting the X from the All Suggestions tab. Make sure you want them to disappear before you hit that X.

    Unfortunately, there is no X button next to each recommended user in the list All suggestions when viewed on Instagram.com. If you want to delete the suggested accounts from this tab, you need to do it from within the app.

  7. If you end up deleting all suggested users from the list All suggestions From within the app, you can refresh the card to see a list of new suggestions. Instagram will continue to suggest new users to follow.

Disable your profile from being shown in other people’s suggestions

If you do not want your profile to appear in the “Suggestions for you” section of other users to avoid being discovered and followed by certain people, you can choose to exclude your account from it. Simply making your account private won’t do it automatically.

You can disable Instagram’s Tips for You section in other users’ feeds only by logging into Instagram from a desktop or mobile web browser. You can’t do this from the app.

  1. Go to Instagram.com from a desktop or mobile web browser and log into your account if necessary.

  2. Go to your profile by selecting the icon of the profile in the top right corner on the desktop web or in the bottom menu on the mobile web.

  3. Select Settings .

  4. Scroll down to the bottom of the page until you see Tips for similar accounts and uncheck the box.

    disable instagram suggestions

    This tells Instagram to ban your account when it recommends similar accounts that people may want to follow.

  5. Select the blue button Send to save changes to profile settings.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.