How to empty the trash in Gmail

How to empty the trash in Gmail

There are two ways to remove emails from Gmail: “Archive” and “Delete”. When you delete an email, it is sent to the “Trash”, which is where it stays for 30 days. You can also empty it first to immediately free up space.

While an “archived” email is not actually removed, “deleted” emails eventually disappear forever. Gmail keeps them in the “Trash” for 30 days in case you change your mind. After that, they are gone forever, but you can speed up the process if you wish.

To empty the trash, you need to open Gmail in a desktop browser or on your iPhone, iPad, or Android device. Use the “hamburger” menu button in the upper left corner of the screen to expand the menu, if it is not already expanded, and select “Trash”.

Tap "Trash" in the sidebar.

At the top of the screen you will see a message explaining that the recycle bin is deleted after 30 days. Select “Empty Trash Now” to do it now.

Select "Empty Trash Now" to do it immediately.

A confirmation message will make sure you want to empty the trash. Select “Blank” to proceed.

Confirm "Blank" to proceed.

That’s all there is to it. Enjoy your perfectly clean digital bin and a little more space in your Google account.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.