How to hide your friends list on Facebook

How to hide your friends list on Facebook

If you don’t want people to see your Facebook friends, you can hide your friends list from them. This guide will show you how to do it on Facebook on both desktop and mobile devices.

Hide the Facebook friends list from everyone or specific people

On Facebook, you can hide your friends list from everyone, specific people, or custom people lists that you have created. This gives you great control over who can see your friends.

Keep in mind, however, that people can still see your mutual friends, even if you’ve hidden your friends list from everyone.

Hide your Facebook friends list on desktop

On a desktop computer like Windows, Mac, Linux, or Chromebook, use the Facebook website to make your friends list private.

To get started, open a web browser on your computer and start Facebook. In the top right corner of the site, click the down arrow icon.

Click "Settings and privacy" in the Facebook menu.

In the “Settings and privacy” menu, click on “Settings”.

Choose "Settings" from the "Settings and privacy" menu.

You will come to a “Settings” page. From the left sidebar, select “Privacy”. The Facebook privacy settings page opens.

Select "Privacy" on the "Settings" page.

In the right pane, you will see a section “How people find and contact you”. In this section, next to “Who can see your friends list”, click “Edit”.

Click "Edit" next to "Who can see your friends list".

At the bottom of the “Who can see your friends” section, click the drop-down menu to select who can see your friends.

Click the drop-down menu in the "Who can see your friends list" section.

If you want to hide your friends list from everyone, choose “Only me” from the drop-down menu. This ensures that only you can view your friends list.

Feel free to select any other option from the drop-down menu, depending on who you want to allow to see your friends.

Select "Only me" from the drop-down menu.

Facebook automatically saves and syncs your changes across all your devices. You are good.

Did you know that you can also block specific friends from seeing your posts without removing them from friends?

Hide your Facebook friends list from mobile

If you’re using an iPhone, iPad, or Android phone, use the Facebook app to specify who can see your friends list.

To do this, first open the Facebook app on your phone. In the top right corner of the app, tap the three horizontal lines.

Tap the three horizontal lines in the top right corner of the Facebook app.

You will see a “Menu” page. Scroll to the bottom of this page, then tap “Settings and Privacy”.

Select "Settings and Privacy" on the "Menu" page.

From the “Settings and privacy” menu, select “Settings”.

Choose "Settings" from the "Settings and privacy" menu.

You will land on a “Settings and privacy” page. Scroll down to the Audience and Visibility section, then tap How People Find and Contact You.

Select "How people find and contact you" on the "Settings and privacy" page.

Tap “Who can see your friends list”.

Choose "Who can see your friends list".

A “Friends List” page will open allowing you to choose who can see your friends. To hide your list from everyone, select the “Only me” option. You are free to choose any other option if you wish.

Select "Only Me" on the "Friends List" page.

Facebook will automatically save your changes and your friends list is now hidden from everyone.

And that’s how you control another aspect of your life on social media!

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.